Have You Ever (not) Been Chosen

As I was driving to church one Sunday morning, for some reason, my minded starting wandering back to childhood memories.

Maybe I should say childhood hurts.

I pictured myself standing with a crowd of other children. Anxiously waiting to be chosen by one of the  captains, as our class was preparing to play a game.

On this particular morning I allowed myself  to consider what may have been going through my thoughts as I stood nervously waiting to be chosen.

Why couldn’t I be the captain?

I hope someone picks me!

Please, don’t let me be the last one standing here?

I WANT TO BE CHOSEN!!

And if I wasn’t chosen….what thoughts may have crossed my mind.

Why wasn’t I chosen?

Does this person not like me?

Why does this person always get to be captain.

I MUST NOT BE GOOD ENOUGH!!!

I am sure that you have been in this same situation. Right? 

Not only as a child, but often times has an adult?

As an adult, when I am not chosen I deal with the same hurts. And so often my thoughts about myself are the same.

Why wasn’t I the one chosen…for the perfect job… the promotion?

Why wasn’t I chosen for the solo part in the choir program?

Why want those ladies choose me to be in their circle of friends?

Unfortunately, my ultimate conclusion when I am not chosen is that “I AM NOT GOOD ENOUGH”.

So many times I fail to see that what I may consider “not chosen” as really part of God’s timing and plans for my life.

This morning I have allowed myself to sit quietly and be in God’s word. I would like to share with you what His word says about being “chosen”.

May you be encouraged, as you hear that you and I are “chosen” by the most important ONE, in the most important game.

HEART VERSES

Deuteronomy 14:2
for you are a people holy to the LORD your God. Out of all the peoples on the face of the earth, the LORD has chosen you to be his treasured possession.

Colossians 3:12
Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

James 2:5
Listen, my dear brothers: Has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom he promised those who love him?

1 Peter 2:9
But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.

One thought on “Have You Ever (not) Been Chosen

Leave a Reply

