Wondering Heart

Do you ever have those days(or maybe I should say weeks) where everything seems to be a priority. Everything and everyone needs your attention? You don’t really know what to do first?  So you wind up doing nothing?  It’s like everything is sort of overwhelming? 

That’s the way things are for me right now. Especially at work.

Working  in  retail at this time of year is very demanding. The tasks seem to be too many. On top of all of the normal things going on at this time of the year our company is starting a new scheduling system. This is where the overwhelming part comes in.

I should be concentrating on hiring and doing  seasonal refresher training for our associates, but instead I am having to concentrate on this new scheduling system. Training for this, while trying to keep up with everything else that has to be completed.

This morning I woke up pretty early and couldn’t go back to sleep.  All of the things that I need to do this week were racing through my mind.

When I came down stairs to do my quiet time I plopped down in my BIG chair and just sort of started telling the Lord everything that was going on.

The first words that came to my mind during this time were “Come to me. I will give you rest.”

How many times do we carry  our burdens around day after day, trying to do it all by ourself, our own way?  They are so heavy.  Pulling us down. Distracting us. Causing us to miss Him and what He has planned for us.

He promises us rest. All we have to do is come to Him. Talk to Him, like we would our best friend.  Just simply rest in Him.

And that is  exactly what I did this morning.

I didn’t pick up my Bible. I just sat in my Big  chair and talked to my Lord and Savior. I allowed His love and grace to wash over me. A perfect peace came over my heart and soul. Calming my wondering heart.

An hour later I went on my merry way to work.

Through out my day, when things started getting a little crazy and Satan was whispering negative words in my ear, I allowed myself to go back to my quite time.

I recalled His promise to give me rest—if I would  just bring my burdens to Him.

It was a good day!!!!  Resting In Him!!!!

Heart Verses

Matthew 11:28
Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

Psalm 62:5
Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.

 

 

Leave a Reply

