Heart Check-up – Pass or Fail

On Wednesday I went to my doctor for my annual check up. After discussing with him some concerns that I was having with my health,  he made the decision to hook me up with a twenty-four hour heart monitoring device. He instructed me to resume my normal activities in order to get an accurate reading.

Wearing this device was a little cumbersome  and aggravating. The device was supposed to come with a belt to hold the little box in place.  But the last person to use the device didn’t  return the belt, so I had to just tuck it in the waist of my pants. Every time that I went to the bathroom I had to find something to do with that little box.  And on top of that I couldn’t take a shower the next morning because of all of the wires.

Anyway, enough rambling ——back to the heart monitoring.

The next day when I went back to have the contraption removed, the nurse told me that someone would read the report and would notify me of the results.

As I was driving home I started thinking of the whole  heart  monitoring thing in comparison with the spiritual condition of my heart.

If  God was monitoring my spiritual  heart  what would He find?  What would my final report reveal?  I started thinking of the many different things that happen in my life within a twenty-four hour period.  Sometimes life is a like a rollercoaster.  One minute your emotions are running high–the next minute they are on a down hill-slide.  Each day brings a lot of opportunities to reveal who we really are. Or better yet whose we are?

Would He find me clothed in the fruit of the spirit?  Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Or would he find me with an unhealthy heart displaying pride, anger, and lacking forgiveness ?  A  heart  showing unloving actions toward others?  Would he find a  heart  filled with bitterness greed and selfishness?  A  heart crusted over with sin?

Would I  pass God’s  heart  check-up?  What would the final results reveal?  How about you?  What is going on in your heart today? Have you had a heart check up with God, lately?

Isn’t is wonderful to know that no matter what shape our heart is in that it can be healed and restored?  We have a God who is waiting and willing to let us start over.  God’s grace.

HEART VERSES 

2 Corinthians 13:5
Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you—unless,
of course, you fail the test?

1 John 1:9
If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

Romans 6:14
For sin shall not be your master, because you are not under law, but under grace..

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

