The Shepherd’s Heart

A few weeks ago I was shopping at a local Christian Book Store.  I purchased a print called ‘Jesus and the Lamb’.   When I went to check out I was telling the clerk that I had seen the print in the store last Christmas and regretted not purchasing it.  I was telling her that ever time I had returned to the store since that time I had looked for this particular picture.  She informed me that it was a very popular print.  Usually selling out within days after receiving it into the stores inventory.

As I exited the store, I told my husband that when I had the print framed that there was a verse in the Bible that I wanted to  include in the framing.  A verse saying something about – the Shepherd holding His sheep close to His heart.

I took the print home and laid it on top of  my entertainment center.  Sort of  forgetting about it.  This past week at the beach, in my quite time, I came across  the verse.

Isaiah 40:11
He tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young.

I came home from vacation and on Sunday night I woke up during the night thinking about these words, “The Shepherd’s Heart”.  The next day I came to my blog and started a new post and just typed in the title.  Since that time I have been praying about why to do a post  on this subject.  What would I say?

Now if you are like me, I am always asking God to confirm things to me. I have been asking a lot of questions.  God , is this blogging thing really from you?  Is it making a difference in anyones life?  What is the purpose, and why me ?  On Wednesday morning, as I was getting dressed, I was tossing this whole blogging thing around again and writing a post about the Shepherds heart.  So, I said to God, again,  if this (blogging) is truly from you please confirm it to me today.

I get in my car and  I start listening to a new cd that my son had given to me. You guessed it. A song (included at the end of this post) comes on with words about the Shepherd’s heart.

So today I looked up several verses in the Bible about the Shepherd.  God is often portrayed as a shepherd tending His flock. In Psalms 23  He is called a Shepherd;  in  John 10- 11,14, He is called the good Shepherd;  Hebrews 13:20 He is called the great Shepherd; and in I Peter 5:4  He is called the Chief  Shepherd.

These passages portray the Shepherd as someone who loves His sheep. Gently guiding them.  Willing to lay down His life for them. Everything that the Shepherd does for His sheep is done out of  love, not out of obligation. The Shepherd protects and cares for His sheep. The Shepherd brings peace.

Today, if your heart is breaking, due to circumstances that seem unbearable or impossible, turn to Jesus, the Great Shepherd. He wants to gather you in His arms and  hold you close to His heart.  He wants you to know that His love covers over all things.  His love is an everlasting love that  does not disappoint.  He is faithful, just and true. There is nothing to big or impossible for the Great Shepherd.

What a beautiful picture –   Jesus – picking you up and loving on you, and holding you close to His heart !!

HEART VERSES

Psalm 23:1
 The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.

John 10:14
“I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me—

John 10:15
just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep.

1 Peter 5:4
And when the Chief Shepherd appears, you will receive the crown of glory that wil
l never fade away.

I love music!!!!  So enjoy!!!  This version is a little  lengthy- but the only one available that I could down load.

 


 

3 thoughts on “The Shepherd’s Heart

  1. Lynn Cowell

    Dear Friend,
    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog today and commenting on “Move Over Myrtle”. My prayer for you is that you will get right back into meeting with Jesus every day and the light you receive from spending time with Him and reading His word will be exacting what you have been missing!
    Please stop back by again!
    Lynn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

