What are YOU Wearing Today??

I will clothe you, Sarah.”  

One day, several months ago, I was standing in my closet, trying to decide what clothes that I was going to wear that day.  Out of no where I heard these words. It sort of caught me off  guard. But, I didn’t really think that much about it  at the time.

Over the next several months I have continued to see or hear God speaking confirmation of these words to me.  One particular passage of scripture that  God has continued to show me is found in Matthew 6.

 25“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? 26Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life[b]?

 28“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. 

Now, if you are like me, when I start seeing the same scripture show up in my life over and over I start wondering what God is trying to say to me through this scripture ——or better yet I starting wondering what He is preparing me for.  And most of the time I start thinking the worst.  I have shared my thoughts on this verse  with a couple of  friends and I have come to realize that I don’t need to worry about things that I cannot control. I need to simply trust  in the Lord.  Whatever is going to happen God already knows about it and He is working all things to His good. We spend a lot of time worrying about things that never happen. Just a lot of wasted time making Satan happy.

After thinking more on the words  “I will clothe you”  I have come up with a little different ideal about what God could be speaking to me concerning these words. I have spent some time in His word looking at other scripture on what He says about how we should be clothed. Allow me to share a few verses of scripture with you and what I feel God is saying to me concerning  this subject.

Proverbs 31:25
She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.

Isaiah 61:10
I delight greatly in the LORD; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.

Romans 13:14
Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the sinful nature.

Colossians 3:12
Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

I have to confess, there are many days when I look in the mirror  that I am more focused with my outer clothing  than I am with my spiritual clothing.  My hearts desire is  to be more like Him. My desire is to be clothed in His love and righteousness. I want to be a reflection of  Him.

So, the next time when I step into my closet and hear Him whisper, ” Sarah, I will clothe you” I will be looking at these words in a whole different way. My focus will more be on the  heart.  I will be asking myself  if my  heart  is properly clothed for the day. Am I dressed  in His love ?  Am I dressed in His righteousness ?  How about humility, compassion,  kindness, gentleness,  patience and faithfulness ?  And don’t let me leave off thankfulness. Do I have a heart  that shows forgiveness and mercy ?

How about you ?  WHAT ARE YOU WEARING TODAY?  What or who are you reflecting to others? Is the face in the mirror the one that you want others to see?

 

Leave a Reply

