A Thankful Heart Leads to the Healing of a Broken Heart

Today I was eating breakfast at the local Cracker Barrel. While my husband was paying for our meal, I was browsing around the store.  I noticed  a particular section of items that the store had designated  “thankfulness.”   These  item caught my attention. Correction, this particular word caught my attention.

You see, my heart was a little sad and breaking this morning. We had just came from dropping off my youngest son, Aaron at the airport.  He was returning to Florida, after being home for a visit. During breakfast I had just been discussing with my husband all of the things that made my heart sad about Aaron going back to Florida. If you are a mom you know what I am saying here.  No matter how old they are, you still have that motherly instinct to want to protect them and keep them close.

Anyway, back to thankfulness. This word kind of stung my thoughts for a minute.  As I continued thinking about Aaron and thankfulness the Lord spoke to me  “Sarah, what are you thankful for this morning,concerning Aaron?’   Wow!!!  Let me share a few thankful thoughts.                                                                                                                                

I am thankful that God has provided Aaron with employment (especially in this tough job market).

I am thankful that God has connected Aaron with a new church family in Florida.

I am thankful for how God is really working in Aaron’s life at this time.

I am thankful for the wonderful week that we were able to spend together.

I am thankful for the many answered prayers that  I have seen revealed in Aaron’s life in the last several months.

I am thankful for God’s protection on Aaron’s life while he has been away from his family.

Before I realized it I was smiling.  I know that you may be thinking that my son leaving and returning to Florida does not really constitute a broken heart (you would have to be a mother to understand).  But the point that I want to make here is more about turning our broken heart  toward thankfulness.

No matter what has caused our broken heart , how serious the situation is that is causing our pain, I think turning our heart  toward God in thankfulness is one of the first steps in easing our pain and begin the healing of our broken heart. 

Is your heart breaking today?  In the midst of your difficult circumstances, what can you be thankful for?  Take a few minutes to thank God for the blessings and answered prayers in your life.

Father, thank you for the many blessing you give us in life. Thank you for hearing our prayers and answering them. Thank you that you are our strength and our shield in times of trouble. Thank you for you unfailing love. Amen

HEART VERSES

Psalm 28:7
The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.

1 Thessalonians 5:18
give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.
 

 

 

One thought on “A Thankful Heart Leads to the Healing of a Broken Heart

  1. Pam

    Sarah, I love reading your blog and I thank God for all he is doing in your life. You know I love you but I must disagree with one thing that you said, YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BE A MOTHER to understand. Please remember that there are some mothers that would not understand because they don’t know how to love anyone and at the same time there are many people who are not mothers that are very capable of knowing how to love with the same depth of love. An adoptive mother did not give birth but can know that depth of love. I have had people in my life that have loved me with the depth of a mother and I have loved very deeply also.
    I don’t mean to pick on you and I know you didn’t mean that in a hurtful way, but I hope you can understand where I am coming from.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

