Strength In His Hands

Over the past few years ,  due to  some sufferings that God has allowed me and my family to go through, I have been drawn to His word.  I have discovered that there are so many wonderful nuggets that  I can take away to strengthen me and help me through each day.  I have been amazed at how many verses in the Bible refer to God using His hands to help us and hold us in our times of suffering and pain.

A few weeks back of this, I actually had a conversation with a dear friend about God’s hands.  I  jokingly told her that God must be right-handed.  Her comment came back to me very swiftly.   “Why do you think this?”  I explained to her that over and over in scripture it speaks of God using His right hand to lift us up, strengthen us and protect us.  Chuckling, she replied, ” but I am left-handed, so does that mean that He doesn’t  love me as much as the right-handed people?”  I assured her that was not the case.   HE  LOVES US ALL THE SAME!  It doesn’t matter where we have been, or what we have done, we have the blessed assurance that His hands are holding us.

 The reason that I came to this conclusion was that as a person when we are grasping for something we are going to use the hand with the  most strength. It  doesn’t  really  matter if  God is left or right-handed. What really matters is that He is holding on to us ever so tightly in the midst of our sufferings or what ever is causing us to be broken-hearted.

One of my favorite verses that I have  been able to cling to in times of suffering is found in Isaiah 41:10. When I am afraid, or don’t  fully understand what is going on in my life, I go back to this verse and recall it over in my heart and mind. I find comfort and rest in His hands.  The picture that comes to my mind when I read this verse is of my beautiful Savior holding me close to His  heart,  like a shepherd would do with his sheep.

Isaiah 41:10
So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

 

Leave a Reply

